KEY TAKEAWAYS
Neither device is better for every student: the right choice depends on grade level, required software, testing rules, and how many years of updates the exact model has left.
- For K-12 students, a Chromebook is usually enough: Google Workspace for Education, Canvas, Schoology, Google Meet, and Zoom all run in a browser or as an app.
- For college, a Chromebook is risky for general majors and ruled out for engineering, design, and computer science; UW Engineering says, “Chromebooks do not have the ability to run the software needed.”
- Microsoft 365 runs on a Chromebook only as web apps, and Word for the web lacks macros, mail merge, citations, and offline authoring, according to Microsoft.
- Every Chromebook stops getting updates on its Auto Update Expiration (AUE) date, the Google-set date after which it gets no ChromeOS updates or security patches, and Windows 10 support ended October 14, 2025, so check both before buying.
- Under $300 in 2026, a K-12 student is best served by a Chromebook with about 3 or more years of AUE left, and a college student by a Windows 11-eligible business refurb with at least 8 GB RAM and 256 GB storage (about $200–$340 for 8th-gen Core i5 models in August 2026 listings).
- A Chromebook updates automatically and uses Verified Boot, so it gives a young child or a senior who mostly browses, emails, and video-calls less to manage; Windows is the right pick when that person needs desktop programs.
Both platforms now have an expiration clock: Windows 10 support has ended, and every Chromebook has a fixed AUE date. This guide compares Chromebooks (ChromeOS) and Windows laptops (Windows 11) for K-12 and college students, covering software, testing, update lifespan, under-$300 refurbished value, and ease of use for kids and seniors. It does not cover Macs, iPads, gaming laptops, or school-issued 1:1 programs in depth.
Table of Contents
- What is the actual difference between a Chromebook and a Windows laptop?
- Is a Chromebook good enough for college?
- Can you use Microsoft Office on a Chromebook?
- Will a Chromebook work with school testing and proctoring software?
- How do I check how long a refurbished Chromebook will still get updates?
- Under $300, is a refurbished Chromebook or a refurbished Windows laptop the better buy?
- Chromebook or Windows laptop: which is easier for a senior or a kid?
- Decision framework: Chromebook or Windows laptop?
- Frequently asked questions
- Is a Chromebook or a Windows laptop better for a high school student?
- Can a Chromebook run Windows programs or desktop Microsoft Office?
- Is Microsoft Office free for students?
- What is a Chromebook Plus, and does a student need one?
- Can my child take the SAT or AP exams on a Chromebook at home?
- Can I install ChromeOS Flex on an old laptop for school?
- What happens to a Chromebook after its AUE date?
- Do I need a student ID or .edu email to buy a refurbished computer?
- Sources
What is the actual difference between a Chromebook and a Windows laptop?
A Chromebook is a laptop that runs Google’s ChromeOS and does its work through the Chrome browser, web apps, and Android apps. A Windows laptop runs Microsoft Windows 11 and installs traditional desktop software.
How does the software differ?
According to Microsoft Support, the Windows and Mac desktop versions of Microsoft 365 cannot be installed on a Chromebook, so users work in the web apps. Many Chromebooks run Android apps. On older pre-2021 models that receive Extended Updates, Google says some features and services might not be supported, according to Google’s Auto Update policy.
How does the support lifecycle differ?
| Lifecycle factor | Chromebook (ChromeOS) | Windows laptop (Windows 11) |
|---|---|---|
| What ends support | A Google-published AUE date for each model | Hardware that cannot run Windows 11 is stuck on Windows 10, which is out of support |
| How long support lasts | Up to 10 years from the platform’s release date, not the purchase date (pre-2021 models only through opt-in Extended Updates), per Google | Windows 10 support ended October 14, 2025, per Microsoft |
| What to check before buying | The exact model’s AUE date | Intel 8th through 14th Gen Core processors are on Microsoft’s supported list, plus TPM 2.0 and Secure Boot |
How much RAM and storage does a student need?
| Floor | Chromebook | Windows 11 laptop |
|---|---|---|
| Usable for schoolwork | 4 GB RAM / 32 GB storage, because the work lives in Google Drive; Davis Joint Unified School District sets 4 GB / 16 GB | 8 GB RAM / 256 GB storage, per the University of Iowa, University of Denver, and University of Houston; Davis Joint USD sets 8 GB / 500 GB |
| Install minimum | Not stated | 4 GB RAM / 64 GB storage, per Microsoft’s Windows 11 specifications |
The Windows figure is an install floor, not a usable one. Denver advises: “Do not purchase a 128 GB HD.”
Is a Chromebook good enough for college?
It depends on the student’s level and major. A Chromebook is sufficient for most K-12 students, except where a class needs Windows-only software or the school requires Windows. It is risky for general college tracks and ruled out for engineering, design, and computer science, where required programs have no ChromeOS version.
Is a Chromebook enough for K-12?
Yes, for most students. Google Workspace for Education is fully web-based, Canvas runs in any current major browser, and Schoology’s desktop use is browser-based. Google Meet needs only a dual-core processor and 2 GB of memory, and Zoom needs a dual-core 2 GHz processor and 4 GB of RAM.
Some districts issue Chromebooks under $500. Beaverton School District values a lost one at about $450 and issues them to grades 6-12, and San Mateo Union High School District runs a 1:1 Chromebook program.
Is a Chromebook risky for general college majors?
Several universities recommend against Chromebooks:
- University of Houston: Chromebooks “may not meet the requirements for proctored exams and are therefore not recommended.”
- Rowan University: “We recommend that you not use a Chromebook.”
- Christopher Newport University: Chromebooks “are not supported nor suggested,” and its business school requires Windows because of Microsoft Access.
- Western Carolina University: Chromebooks “do not meet the university’s laptop requirement.”
- WesternU: Chromebooks “do NOT meet the minimum laptop requirements” and will not run required software such as ExamSoft without a college-purchased license.
Can a Chromebook run engineering, design, and computer science software?
No. Engineering programs require Windows (several name Windows 11) and software with no ChromeOS version:
- UW Engineering: “Chromebooks do not have the ability to run the software needed.”
- Virginia Tech Engineering requires Windows 11: “MacOS, Chrome OS, and mobile OS’s such as iOS/Android not supported.”
- UNC Charlotte Engineering says Chromebooks “DO NOT meet the laptop requirement”; Ohio State Engineering “does not support or recommend Chromebook.”
- AutoCAD 2027 lists Windows 11 and macOS, and Revit 2027 lists Windows 11 only, per Autodesk. Adobe Premiere, Visual Studio 2026, and MATLAB R2026b also list no ChromeOS version.
- MATLAB Online runs in a browser but, per MathWorks, cannot build MEX files or use COM.
What if my college says Chromebooks are allowed?
Some do. According to Temple University ITS, Chromebooks are a viable option for its College of Education and Human Development and “do work with Proctorio.” Temple recommends at least two years of auto-update support. Read your college’s and department’s laptop requirement page before you buy. For more on matching a laptop to your major, see our school laptop performance guide.
Can you use Microsoft Office on a Chromebook?
Yes, but only the web versions. According to Microsoft Support (page dated May 20, 2026), Microsoft 365 runs on a Chromebook as web apps, and the Android versions of Office are “not currently supported on a Chromebook.”
What do students lose in Microsoft 365 for the web?
Per Microsoft’s Word feature comparison (March 27, 2026):
| App | Desktop only | Works on desktop and web |
|---|---|---|
| Word | Macros, mail merge, citations, bibliography, section breaks, cover pages, offline authoring; password-protected documents open read-only on the web | Track Changes, real-time coauthoring, footnotes and endnotes, table of contents, export as PDF |
| Excel | Creating, running, or editing VBA macros, according to Microsoft | Opening and editing a workbook that contains macros (the macros stay in the file) |
If a class requires citations, mail merge, macros, or editing a password-protected file, the student needs desktop Microsoft 365 on Windows or a Mac.
What does Microsoft 365 cost students?
According to Microsoft Education, students with an eligible school email get Office 365 A1 at no cost (view-only after it expires). Anyone with a free Microsoft account can use the web apps with basic editing; a paid subscription unlocks more advanced editing, according to Microsoft. As of October 2026, Microsoft lists Microsoft 365 Basic at $19.99 per year and, on its plan comparison page, Personal at $99.99, Family at $129.99, and Premium at $199.99 per year.
Will a Chromebook work with school testing and proctoring software?
Usually, if the Chromebook is school-managed and on a current ChromeOS version. The K-12 testing apps we checked (TestNav, DRC INSIGHT) support Chromebooks, and so do several college proctoring tools, but some college programs block them.
According to College Board, Bluebook runs on Windows, Mac, iPad, or a school-managed Chromebook, but not a personal Chromebook. For 2026–27 it requires ChromeOS 144 or later and verified mode, and it does not support ChromeOS Flex, a version of ChromeOS installed on existing PCs and Macs (see the FAQ).
How do K-12 testing apps compare on Chromebook and Windows?
| Criterion | Pearson TestNav (2026–27) | DRC INSIGHT (2026–27) |
|---|---|---|
| ChromeOS minimum | Stable channel above 145, or LTS 144 (estimated), per Pearson | ChromeOS 144 or later from October 8, 2026, per DRC’s October 1, 2026 tech bulletin |
| Managed Chromebook required? | Not stated on Pearson’s page (kiosk mode runs when a test requires it) | DRC does not support unmanaged ChromeOS devices, per its February 2026 requirements |
| AUE guidance | Not stated | Replace devices that reach AUE within the school year |
| Windows minimum | Windows 11 24H2 or 25H2 (estimated); Windows 10 not listed, though TestNav does not block older versions, per Pearson | Dropped Windows 10 after July 2026; from October 8, 2026 allows Windows 10 22H2 on ESU but calls it “not a supported operating system” |
Which college proctoring tools work on a Chromebook?
It varies. According to Respondus, LockDown Browser and Respondus Monitor support ChromeOS at the Long Term Support (LTS) channel minimum, and the University of Arkansas allows Chromebooks by default for LockDown Browser. Temple says Chromebooks “do work with Proctorio” for its College of Education and Human Development. The University of Houston says Chromebooks “do not support some of the testing applications,” and WesternU says they will not run required software such as ExamSoft without a college-purchased license. Ask the instructor or college IT which tool the course uses, then read that vendor’s requirements page.
How do I check how long a refurbished Chromebook will still get updates?
Check its Auto Update Expiration (AUE) date, the Google-set date after which a Chromebook stops receiving ChromeOS updates, security patches, and support. Read it on the device or look up the exact model on Google’s list before you buy. We recommend avoiding any Chromebook with less than about 3 years left.
Where do I find the AUE date?
- On the device: Select the time at the bottom right, then Settings, About ChromeOS, Additional details, and read “Update schedule,” according to Google.
- Before buying: Look up the exact model number on Google’s Auto Update policy page.
A model’s “End of Sale” date is set by the manufacturer and is unrelated to update eligibility, according to Google.
Why do similar Chromebooks expire years apart?
Google’s 10-year clock starts at the platform’s release, and similar-looking models can use different platforms. Examples from Google’s list:
- Acer Chromebook 11 (C732) runs to June 2027; Acer Chromebook 13 (CB713-1W) to June 2028.
- Chromebook Plus models (Chromebooks meeting Google’s 8 GB RAM and 128 GB storage minimum), such as the HP 14c-na0xxx, run to June 2035.
Asterisked models on Google’s list are pre-2021 devices that must opt in to Extended Updates, and Google says some features and services might not be supported on those devices, according to Google’s Auto Update policy.
What is the 3-year rule for buying a Chromebook?
We recommend not buying a Chromebook with fewer than about 3 years of AUE remaining; Temple ITS publishes a lower floor of two years. Insist on the exact model number: in our research, Amazon Renewed and eBay listings often omit or confuse the AUE date and sometimes mislabel basic units as Chromebook Plus.
How do I check a Windows laptop’s support?
Apply the same lifecycle test:
- Confirm the exact CPU model is on Microsoft’s supported-processor list (Intel Core 8th through 14th Gen are listed), or run the PC Health Check app, per Microsoft.
- Confirm TPM 2.0 under Windows Security, Device Security, Security processor details, per Microsoft.
- A Windows-10-only refurb gets security updates only through October 12, 2027, under Extended Security Updates (ESU). As of October 2026, Microsoft lists ESU at $30 or 1,000 Microsoft Rewards points, or at no extra cost when you sync PC settings. The enrolling account cannot be a child account.
Under $300, is a refurbished Chromebook or a refurbished Windows laptop the better buy?
The better buy is whichever device clears both its support floor and its usable-spec floor for the student. For K-12, that is a Chromebook with at least 3 years of AUE left. For general college use, it is a Windows 11-eligible business-class refurb with 8 GB RAM and 256 GB storage. Both exist under $300. A cheap Chromebook near its AUE and a cheap Windows-10-only laptop both lose support mid-school, so remaining support years matter more than price.
What does $300 buy?
- Business-class Windows refurbs with an 8th-gen Core i5, 8 GB RAM, and 256 GB storage (Lenovo ThinkPad T480, Dell Latitude 7490, and HP EliteBook 840 G5 class) ran about $200–$340 in live listings checked in August 2026. The ThinkPad T480 alone ran about $212–$327 at Back Market, and an EliteBook 840 G5 listed at $197.69 on Walmart Restored.
- Entry Chromebooks cost the same or less. In Human-I-T’s store listings as of October 9, 2026, a basic Chromebook was $104.99–$149.99 and an 8 GB / 256 GB Windows laptop was $199.99–$259.99; the lower price in each range is the Gold Member price (see who qualifies for reduced pricing).
Resale is a Chromebook caveat. In a July 2026 estimate, ValueSnap put typical Chromebook trade-in offers at $0–$30 and a used $300 2022 model at $50–$100. These are market estimates, not official figures.
Which Windows laptops under $300 should I skip?
- 4 GB of RAM. The lowest college minimum we found was 8 GB.
- Under 256 GB of storage. Denver: “Do not purchase a 128 GB HD.”
- Any pre-8th-gen Intel machine. It is not on Microsoft’s Windows 11 supported list, and Windows 10 support has ended.
What should I check on any refurbished purchase?
For either platform, check warranty length and who backs it, return window, battery floor, charger, and Windows 11 eligibility or AUE date. Store policies differ a lot:
| Store | Warranty | Returns | Battery floor | Charger |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Back Market | 1 year, from the seller | 30 days, free | At least 85% for laptops | Always included |
| Dell Refurbished | 100 days; batteries excluded | 30 days, 15% restocking fee unless defective | None published | Per listing |
| eBay Certified Refurbished | 2 years on Certified Refurbished (1 year on Excellent, Very Good, Good), backed by Allstate | At least 30 days, free | None published | Original or new accessories |
| Human-I-T | 1-year hardware warranty, plus 1 year of tech support with every computer purchase | 60 days | None published | Stated on some listings (for example, the Pro Windows laptop); check the listing |
For care tips after you buy, see our guide to caring for a refurbished laptop.
Human-I-T’s basic Chromebook is guaranteed to have an AUE of 2027 or later, according to its store listing. That is less than the 3-year guidance above, so check the exact unit’s AUE date (Settings, About ChromeOS) on arrival. For a browser-first K-12 student on a tight budget, see a basic Chromebook with a guaranteed AUE floor and a one-year warranty.
Do I need a student ID to buy refurbished?
No. Refurbished sellers do not require student verification, and anyone can buy from Human-I-T. That helps high schoolers: ID.me student verification is limited to college students 18 and older, and Apple Education excludes high school students.
For a college student who needs Windows 11 headroom, consider a 10th–11th-gen Windows 11 laptop with 16 GB RAM and a 60-day return window.
Chromebook or Windows laptop: which is easier for a senior or a kid?
A Chromebook updates automatically and uses Verified Boot, so it gives a young child or a senior who mainly browses, emails, and video-calls less to manage. A Windows laptop is the right choice when that person needs desktop programs. Neither platform prevents scams or guarantees protection from malware.
How do parental controls compare?
| Criterion | Google Family Link (Chromebook) | Microsoft Family Safety (Windows) |
|---|---|---|
| What it supervises | Chromebooks on ChromeOS 71 and later, per Google | Screen time on Windows 10 and 11, per Microsoft |
| Web filtering | “Only allow approved sites” option; parents can block Chrome Web Store extensions; Incognito is turned off, per Google | Works only in Microsoft Edge; other browsers are blocked while filtering is on, per Microsoft |
| School accounts | Cannot manage Google Workspace for Education accounts, per Google | Not stated |
What built-in security does each have?
According to Microsoft’s Windows Security app page (May 5, 2026) and Smart App Control overview (September 30, 2026), Windows 11 ships with Microsoft Defender Antivirus, Windows Firewall, and Smart App Control. ChromeOS updates automatically and uses Verified Boot, which repairs the system if it is tampered with, even after AUE, according to Google.
Do scams affect seniors on either device?
According to the FTC, older adults reported losing more than $3 billion to fraud in 2025, across all fraud types. Neither platform’s security features prevent fraud, so scam awareness matters on either device. For help building basic computer skills, see our digital skills courses.
Which has better accessibility features?
| Feature type | ChromeOS | Windows 11 |
|---|---|---|
| Screen reader | ChromeVox (Ctrl + Alt + Z), per Google | Narrator (Windows + Ctrl + Enter), per Microsoft |
| Reading and speech | Select-to-speak and dictation, per Google | Live captions (works offline) and Voice access (works offline after setup) |
| Magnification | Full-screen and docked magnifier | Magnifier (Windows + Plus) |
| Visibility | Color inversion and cursor size | Contrast themes and a Text size slider |
Decision framework: Chromebook or Windows laptop?
Use this table to pick a device: we recommend a Chromebook only with about 3 or more years of AUE left and no desktop-only required program, and a Windows laptop only if it is Windows 11-eligible with at least 8 GB RAM and 256 GB SSD.
| Decision variable | Choose a Chromebook when… | Choose a Windows laptop when… | How to verify before buying |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade level and major | K-12, or a college program (for example, education) whose IT page allows Chromebooks | A general college track that recommends against Chromebooks, or any engineering, business, design/media, or CS program | Read the school’s laptop requirement page |
| Required software | Everything runs in a browser, as an Android app, or as Microsoft 365 web apps | Coursework needs desktop Microsoft 365 features, Access, AutoCAD/Revit, Premiere, Visual Studio, or local MATLAB | Check each program’s vendor page for a ChromeOS entry |
| Testing and proctoring | School-managed Chromebook for Bluebook or DRC INSIGHT (or one the school confirms for TestNav), or a proctoring tool that lists ChromeOS (Respondus, Proctorio) | Bluebook on a personal device, or required software that does not run on Chromebooks (for example, WesternU’s ExamSoft) | Ask which tool is used and check its OS requirements |
| Support lifespan remaining | The exact model’s AUE date covers the remaining school years | Intel 8th Gen Core or newer, TPM 2.0, not Windows-10-only | Google’s AUE list or Settings, About ChromeOS; PC Health Check |
| Budget and spec floor | Under $300 and K-12; 4 GB / 32 GB is the floor (Temple’s minimum), 8 GB / 64 GB is our recommendation | A business-class refurb at 8 GB / 256 GB minimum (16 GB / 512 GB for demanding majors, per UNC Charlotte Engineering) | Reject 4 GB RAM or under 256 GB storage; confirm warranty, returns, battery, charger |
| Primary user | A young child (Family Link, automatic updates, Verified Boot) or a senior who mainly browses, emails, and video-calls | Needs desktop programs, or the household uses Microsoft Family Safety and Edge | Check whether a child’s school account is Google Workspace for Education (Family Link cannot manage it) |
| Rule of thumb | We recommend a Chromebook only with about 3 or more years of AUE and no desktop-only required program | We recommend a Windows laptop only if Windows 11-eligible with at least 8 GB RAM / 256 GB SSD | Confirm both thresholds on the exact model |
Still comparing? Browse Human-I-T’s warrantied Chromebook, Windows, and Apple laptops.
Frequently asked questions
Is a Chromebook or a Windows laptop better for a high school student?
For most high school students, a Chromebook is enough, because Google Workspace for Education, Canvas, and Schoology run in a browser. Choose one with about 3 or more years of AUE left. The exception is a class that needs Windows-only software or a school that requires Windows.
Can a Chromebook run Windows programs or desktop Microsoft Office?
No. Microsoft says desktop Microsoft 365 cannot be installed on a Chromebook, so users work in the web versions, which lack offline authoring. AutoCAD 2027, Revit 2027, Adobe Premiere, and Visual Studio 2026 list no ChromeOS version.
Is Microsoft Office free for students?
Students with an eligible school email can get Office 365 A1 at no cost, according to Microsoft Education, and anyone with a free Microsoft account can use the web versions with basic editing. As of October 2026, paid plans start at $19.99 per year for Microsoft 365 Basic, which works on the web, iOS, and Android.
What is a Chromebook Plus, and does a student need one?
Google says a Chromebook Plus has at least 8 GB of RAM and 128 GB of storage, plus a 1080p webcam, per its eligibility page. A K-12 student does not need one for browser-based schoolwork.
Can my child take the SAT or AP exams on a Chromebook at home?
Not on a personal Chromebook. College Board says Bluebook runs on Windows, Mac, iPad, or a school-managed Chromebook. A Windows laptop, Mac, or iPad is accepted for SAT Weekend; for AP, SAT School Day, and PSAT, the school decides whether personal devices are allowed.
Can I install ChromeOS Flex on an old laptop for school?
Google’s ChromeOS Flex officially supports x86-64 PCs with 4 GB of RAM and 16 GB of storage. It has no Google Play Store or Android apps, and Bluebook does not support it, so it is not a full substitute for a Chromebook.
What happens to a Chromebook after its AUE date?
It still turns on, but it stops getting ChromeOS updates, security patches, and Google support, according to Google. DRC recommends replacing devices that reach AUE within the school year.
Do I need a student ID or .edu email to buy a refurbished computer?
No. Refurbished sellers such as Back Market, eBay Certified Refurbished, and Dell Refurbished sell to anyone with no student verification, and anyone can buy from Human-I-T. That matters for high schoolers, who are excluded from education discounts.
Sources
- Microsoft Support, “How to access Microsoft 365 on a Chromebook,” https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/office/lifecycle/how-to-access-microsoft-365-on-a-chromebook
- Google, “Auto Update policy” (Chrome Enterprise and Education Help), https://support.google.com/chrome/a/answer/6220366
- Google, “Check your Chromebook’s update schedule,” https://support.google.com/chromebook/answer/9367166
- Microsoft, “End of support for Windows 10, Windows 8.1, and Windows 7,” https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/end-of-support
- Microsoft Learn, “Windows 11 supported Intel processors,” https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-hardware/design/minimum/supported/windows-11-supported-intel-processors
- Microsoft, “Find Windows 11 specs, features, and computer requirements,” https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/windows-11-specifications
- Davis Joint Unified School District, “New Expectations for Connectivity in Phased ReOpening,” https://cdnsm5-ss18.sharpschool.com/UserFiles/Servers/Server_117089/File/Departments/Instructional_Technology/Technology_Policies/New%20Expectations%20for%20Connectivity%20in%20Phased%20ReOpening.pdf
- University of Iowa ITS, “Suggested computer configurations for students,” https://its.uiowa.edu/services/suggested-computer-configurations-students
- University of Denver IT, “Laptops for students,” https://www.du.edu/it/support/how-to/students/laptops
- University of Houston UIT, “Computer recommendations,” https://www.uh.edu/infotech/about/planning/off-campus/computer-recommendations/index.php
- Google Workspace Admin Help, “Supported browsers,” https://support.google.com/a/answer/33864
- Instructure Community, “What are the browser and computer requirements for Instructure products?,” https://community.canvaslms.com/t5/Canvas-Basics-Guide/What-are-the-browser-and-computer-requirements-for-Instructure/ta-p/66
- PowerSchool, “Schoology system requirements,” https://uc.powerschool-docs.com/en/schoology/latest/system-requirements
- Beaverton School District, “Chromebook resources,” https://www.beaverton.k12.or.us/departments/teaching-learning/future-ready/chromebook-resources
- San Mateo Union High School District, “Chromebooks,” https://www.smuhsd.org/students/academic-related/chromebooks
- Rowan University IRT, “Student laptop,” https://irt.rowan.edu/starting/students/laptop/
- Christopher Newport University ITS, “Student Laptop Requirements,” https://cnu.edu/its/laptop.html
- Western Carolina University IT, “Student Computer Purchasing,” https://www.wcu.edu/learn/academic-services/it/computer-guidelines/index.aspx
- WesternU IT Support, “WesternU Student Laptop Requirements,” https://support.westernu.edu/TDClient/1848/Portal/KB/Article/78200/WesternU-Student-Laptop-Requirements
- University of Washington College of Engineering, “Technology expectations,” https://www.engr.washington.edu/current/policies/technology-expectations
- Virginia Tech College of Engineering, “Computer requirement,” https://eng.vt.edu/undergraduate/computer-requirement.html
- UNC Charlotte College of Engineering, “Computer requirements,” https://engr.charlotte.edu/computer-requirements/
- Ohio State ETS, “Hardware recommendations for students,” https://ets.osu.edu/hardware-recommendations-students
- Autodesk, “System requirements for AutoCAD 2027 including Specialized Toolsets,” https://www.autodesk.com/support/technical/article/caas/sfdcarticles/sfdcarticles/System-requirements-for-AutoCAD-2027-including-Specialized-Toolsets.html
- Autodesk, “System requirements for Revit 2027 products,” https://www.autodesk.com/support/technical/article/caas/sfdcarticles/sfdcarticles/System-requirements-for-Revit-2027-products.html
- Adobe, “Adobe Premiere system requirements,” https://helpx.adobe.com/premiere/desktop/get-started/technical-requirements/adobe-premiere-pro-technical-requirements.html
- Microsoft Learn, “Visual Studio 2026 System Requirements,” https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/visualstudio/releases/2026/vs-system-requirements
- MathWorks, “MATLAB R2026b System Requirements for Windows,” https://www.mathworks.com/support/requirements/matlab-system-requirements.html
- MathWorks, “MATLAB Online Specifications and Limitations,” https://www.mathworks.com/products/matlab-online/limitations.html
- Temple University ITS, “Recommendations and Requirements,” https://its.temple.edu/shoppers-guide/recommendations-requirements
- Microsoft Support, “Word Features Comparison: Word for the web vs Desktop,” https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/word/word-features-comparison-word-for-the-web-vs-desktop
- Microsoft Support, “Work with VBA macros in Excel for the web,” https://support.microsoft.com/en-US/Excel/work-with-vba-macros-in-excel-for-the-web
- Microsoft Education, “Free Microsoft Office 365 for Schools,” https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/education/products/office
- Microsoft, “Microsoft 365 Basic,” https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/p/microsoft-365-basic/cfq7ttc0ktxs
- Microsoft, “Compare Microsoft 365 Plans & Pricing,” https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/buy/compare-all-microsoft-365-products
- College Board, “Approved Devices: Bluebook for Students,” https://bluebook.collegeboard.org/students/prepare-your-device/approved-devices
- College Board, “New Tech Requirements” (Bluebook, 2026–27), https://bluebook.collegeboard.org/technology/updates-releases/new-requirements
- Pearson, “TestNav System Requirements (2026-27 School Year),” https://support.assessment.pearson.com/display/TN/TestNav+System+Requirements and https://support.assessment.pearson.com/TN/testnav-system-requirements-18613791.html
- DRC, “Tech Bulletin: DRC INSIGHT and Central Office Services Updates for October 8, 2026” (hosted by Wisconsin DPI), https://dpi.wi.gov/media/56010/download?inline
- DRC, “DRC INSIGHT System Requirements” (February 26, 2026, hosted by Wisconsin DPI), https://dpi.wi.gov/sites/default/files/imce/assessment/pdf/DRC_INSIGHT_System_Requirements.pdf
- Respondus, “What are the system requirements for Respondus Monitor?,” https://support.respondus.com/hc/en-us/articles/4409604102171-What-are-the-system-requirements-for-Respondus-Monitor
- University of Arkansas, “You can use your Chromebook or iPad to take LockDown Browser Exams,” https://bbhelp.uark.edu/chromebook-ipad-lockdown-browser/
- Microsoft, “Windows 10 Consumer Extended Security Updates (ESU),” https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/extended-security-updates
- Back Market, “Lenovo ThinkPad T480” listing, https://www.backmarket.com/en-us/p/lenovo-thinkpad-t480-14
- Human-I-T Store, “Get it Done” Chromebook Laptop, https://store.human-i-t.org/basic-chromebook-laptop/
- ValueSnap, “Laptop trade-in value,” https://www.valuesnap.io/blog/laptop-trade-in-value
- Back Market Help Center, “How does the 1-year limited warranty work?,” https://help.backmarket.com/hc/en-us/articles/360010237699-How-does-the-1-year-limited-warranty-work ; battery: https://help.backmarket.com/hc/en-us/articles/360026656374-How-long-can-I-expect-my-battery-to-last ; accessories: https://help.backmarket.com/hc/en-us/articles/360033669473-What-accessories-are-included-with-my-order
- Dell Refurbished, “Limited Warranty,” https://www.dellrefurbished.com/limited-warranty ; “Returns,” https://www.dellrefurbished.com/returns
- eBay, “Refurbished program warranty,” https://pages.ebay.com/refurbishedprogramwarranty/index.html
- Human-I-T Store, “Warranty & Returns,” https://store.human-i-t.org/warranty
- ID.me Help, “Verify your Student status with ID.me for discounts,” https://help.id.me/hc/en-us/articles/204727210-Verify-your-Student-status-with-ID-me-for-discounts
- Apple, “Back to School terms and conditions” (Apple Education), https://www.apple.com/us-edu/shop/back-to-school/terms-conditions
- Google, “Learn which devices can be supervised” (Family Link), https://support.google.com/families/answer/9116646
- Google, “Chrome & your child’s Google Account,” https://support.google.com/families/answer/7087030
- Google, “Get started with Family Link,” https://support.google.com/families/answer/7101025
- Microsoft, “Microsoft Family Safety,” https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/family-safety
- Microsoft Support, “Filter websites and searches using Microsoft Family Safety,” https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/family-safety/filter-websites-and-searches-using-microsoft-family-safety
- Microsoft Support, “Stay protected with the Windows Security app,” https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/security/windows-security/stay-protected-with-the-windows-security-app
- Microsoft Learn, “Smart App Control overview,” https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/apps/develop/smart-app-control/overview
- FTC, “Top Scams Affecting Older Adults,” https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/events/2026/05/top-scams-affecting-older-adults
- Google, “Use the built-in screen reader” (ChromeVox), https://support.google.com/chromebook/answer/7031755
- Google, “Turn on Chromebook accessibility features,” https://support.google.com/chromebook/answer/177893
- Microsoft Support, “Make Windows easier to see,” https://support.microsoft.com/en-US/Accessibility/windows/make-windows-easier-to-see
- Microsoft Support, “Use live captions to better understand audio,” https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/accessibility/windows/use-live-captions-to-better-understand-audio
- Microsoft Support, “Set up voice access,” https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/accessibility/windows/voice-access/set-up-voice-access
- Google, “Chromebook Plus,” https://www.google.com/intl/en_us/chromebook/chromebookplus ; “Chromebook Plus OS update eligibility,” https://support.google.com/chromebook/answer/14128000
- Google, ChromeOS Flex Help (requirements), https://support.google.com/chromeosflex/answer/11552529
- Microsoft Support, “Enable TPM 2.0 on your PC,” https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/security/devicesecurity/enable-tpm-2-0-on-your-pc





